Blog

Literary Greats

Our summer has been an adventure. My husband and I set off for Scotland and Ireland, my first trip ever abroad. And it did not disappoint. And if you struggle with finding time to write, arriving extra early for international flights and then the length of those flights affords you with plenty of time to put pen to paper.

I now have great admiration and respect for those who wrote with pencil and paper long ago. Three of the five chapters I have written for my current work in progress were by hand. It is indeed a daunting task. Remembering that you need to add three or four lines to explain your character is much easier with my Dell than it is with my pen and paper.

Our trip was a literary themed tour, well suited for us author-geek types. We visited Abbotsford, the home of Sir Walter Scott. We stood in the dining room where he dined with Jane Austen, engaging in heated debates. We traveled on the Jacobite Express, the train used as Hogwart’s Express, making our way over the viaduct, just as they did in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. We visited the home of Robert Burns, The Writer’s Museum, the battlefields of Culloden and the split stone of fame from Outlander.  I stood on the banks of Loch Ness with the water lapping at my feet just as Maddie did in At The Water’s Edge. I saw Spoon Cafe, where J.K. Rowling penned her first Harry Potter book. I made my way carefully along the Cliffs of Moher or, perhaps as you know them, “The Cliffs of Insanity” from Princess Bride. We strolled along the Literary Parade at St. Patrick’s Park acknowledging many Irish literary greats such as Oscar Wilde, Jonathan Swift, William Butler Yeats, and Samuel Beckett.

And as my husband and I visited these sites and walked where these authors had walked, we were inspired. Inspired to write and not just write, but to dig down deep and write from our hearts and soul, writing to inspire others.

This trip will be one of the treasures I keep that reminds me how words affect our lives, of how books can live on in others, inspiring them to do more, be more, laugh, cry, sigh, and feel, yes, feel the words deep in their soul. I pray my writing does just that.

May you be inspired as you pick up the next book to read or perhaps as you pick up your pen to write the next word. K

 

Leave a Reply

